At the MIL’s in New Jersey: Bridal Shower No. 2

A few weeks before the wedding my mother-in-law’s two best friends gave us a co-ed bridal shower. With all the planning going back and forth, it just so happened that it was going to be the day after my groom’s overnight bachelor party in Atlantic City. I knew that this wasn’t going to be the best idea but I thwarted the nag in me and said “try not to make it turn out like the movie The Hangover!”

At about 4:30 p.m. Mr. Pashmina called me from the road to tell me that he may have to meet me there–they were running late–but he was going to try to come home to clean himself up from the party…none of them were able to take a shower before check-out! Yes, theses stinky boys were all going to attend too. The bridal shower was set to start at 5 p.m. We were asked to arrive fashionably late around 5:30 or 6.  His estimated arrival time was 6:30 or so…

I got dressed and made my way over to the party was at precisely 6 p.m. I was a little bit nervous and didn’t want to walk in alone. Since the majority of people coming were his mom and dad’s friends, I wasn’t quite sure what to expect when I arrived. What if a bunch of people greeted me and I didn’t know any of them. But to my surprise when I got there Mr. P was there waiting for me, he just arrived. A bit tore up and hungover looking, but there all the same!

It was a hot New Jersey night and most of our friends flocked outside to seek refuge on the deck in the backyard. After saying “hi” to all the stinky boys and their wives, Mr. P and I then made the circuit kissing and hugging all of his parents friends. Everyone was so warm and friendly, even when we didn’t know them. The older women would give us marriage advice and the men would chuckle and tell us jokes.

One of the main highlights was all the food. They special ordered a lechón. This is a whole roasted pig which only makes its appearance on special occasions. Its origins are Spanish, but it is one of the most prized Filipino dishes. The pig or piglet is skewered whole and cooked in a firepit, rotating it as if it was in a big rotisserie. The result looks similar to a pig served during a luau. But the thing that people love about lechón is the crispy skin. If you are lucky to get the skin, that is, it is what people reach for first! It tastes sort of like super thick, deep fried bacon. (Please do not look at the very bottom picture if you do not wish to see it ready to be served up). I wasn’t in love with the dish before the bridal shower because I grew up with pork chops and apple sauce but with this lechón my opinion is starting to sway. I guess I have always been missing the sweet sauce that goes with it which is sort of like a chutney. Anyways, back to the party, I always get distracted with food…

The main event was watching me open gifts with the help of all the small kids and my handy groom wielding a kitchen knife. Let me tell you all, Crate & Barrel really knows how to tape up a box–and almost all the gifts were from there! All this knifing, tearing, and shredding was happening while Wowoweé was going on in the background.

For those of you unfamiliar with this Filipino variety show, it is like the craziest (and funnest) show on television. It is hours of silly games, contestant interviews, beautiful Filipinos, and dancing, music, and random acts of entertainment. It is off the Richter’s scale with energy. You always hear “WaWa Wee!” exclaimed and then people laughing or screaming. It was everything that opening the presents felt like!! I was butchering people’s last names. Paper was flying everywhere! Knives kept slashing boxes. Kids were running around. Boys were hungover. And in the midst my wedding bonnet that kept getting bigger and more Little Bo Peep-like. It was a crazy good time!

The two hostesses put together the best party. I absolutely loved it. Everyone was able to join in the fun regardless of gender or age! They even gave out traditional Jordan almonds as favors. So sweet!

What was your bridal shower like? Was it co-ed or all girls? Did it have a chaotic, fun energy like mine?

Leave a Reply

