Balinese Wedding Elements

I am trying to incorporate some island elements into the design of my wedding since my fiance is of Filipino descent and we will be getting hitched on an island. One of the celebratory Filipino items will be fans–much needed in the humid tropics, they may or may not be functional on the semi-arid Californian island where we will get married (will it be in the 60s and foggy or in 80s and sweltering!?). If they are not entirely needed, I want them to be at least an added piece of decor, right!

I am constantly making note when I see fans making an appearance at a wedding. Especially when they have a bit more pizazz than just the regular store bought kind (meaning: straw or white and bamboo).

I loved seeing this post on Style Me Pretty that profiles a destination wedding in Bali. The ceremony was held in a courtyard–similar to how ours will be–and is a mixture of casual and more formal. The fans they use are spruced up with different papers in geometric designs. The patterns in chocolate brown & cream and white & black add a lot of visual excitement to the calm surroundings. They even compliment the Balinese dancers’ attire. I also love the colors of magenta and purple mixed with the natural landscape of lavish greens.

Very beautiful, and in the dead of winter here in NJ/NYC, I can’t wait until my own burst of sunshine on our wedding day. So, thanks SMP for featuring more South East Asian & Pacific Island weddings (…and held somewhere other than Hawaii, although I am a sucker for these too it is just nice to see variety).

Leave a Reply

